

The Graduate Council met on Monday, October 23, 2006, at 2:30 p.m. in room 311 of the Byrnes Building with Brian Habing presiding.

Graduate Council Members Present: Marianne Bickle, James Buggy, Kenneth Campbell, Christine Ebert, Naomi Farber, Joshua Gold, Gregory Hand, Zach Kelehear, Manton Matthews, Jim O'Connor, William Rivers, Richard Schulz, Oggie Trifonov, and Wendy Valerio.

Graduate Council Members Absent: Barry Markovsky, *Christopher Tollefsen, and Irma Van Scoy.

Graduate School Representatives Present: Karen David, Anthony Edwards, and Dale Moore.

NOTE: These minutes will become final on December 13, 2006, if not challenged.

1. APPROVAL OF THE OCTOBER 9, 2006, MINUTES

The Graduate Council adopted the minutes of October 9, 2006, as presented.

- 2. **CHAIR'S REMARKS** (BRIAN HABING):
 - Thanks to Council members for attendance.
 - Update on Policies and Practices agenda items.

3. **REPORT OF THE GRADUATE DEAN (CHRIS EBERT):**

- December 1st is the deadline for submission of nominees for the Graduate School Centennial Fellowship.
- The Graduate School will host a drop-in on Monday, October 30, 2006.
- 4. REPORT OF THE HUMANITIES, SOCIAL SCIENCES, EDUCATION, AND RELATED PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS COMMITTEE: JOSHUA GOLD reporting. NO REPORT.
- 5. REPORT OF THE SCIENCE, MATH, AND RELATED PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS COMMITTEE: MANTON MATTHEWS reporting. NO REPORT.
- 6. **PETITIONS AND APPEALS COMMITTEE:** NAOMI FARBER reporting. NO REPORT.

- 7. **REPORT OF THE 500/600 LEVEL COURSE COMMITTEE:** ANTHONY EDWARDS reporting. On Friday, October 13, 2006, the Curricula and Courses Committee approved the following course change proposals: EXSC 530, 530L, 531, and 563.
- 8. OTHER COMMITTEE REPORTS: NO REPORT
- 9. OLD BUSINESS:
 - Christine Ebert fielded questions about the Yardley Report, the NRC Study, and Doctoral Program Review and Self Study.
- 10. **NEW BUSINESS:**
- 11. GOOD OF THE ORDER
- 12. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 2:58 p.m.

Anthony Edwards, Recording Secretary

James Buggy, Secretary

c:

President Andrew A. Sorensen
Provost Mark P. Becker
Deans
Department Chairs
Graduate Directors
Barbara Blaney, University Registrar
Jodie Morris, Office of the Registrar
Gail Stephens, Office of the Registrar
Thom Harman, University Publications
Dale Moore, Director of Graduate Admissions

*Replacement Member (2006-2007)